Released in 2011

This anthology contains all the songs you'd typically find on any other Robert Johnson collection, however (and this is a big however) I promise you that you've never heard it quite like this before!

The reason for this is because of the immense and masterful remaster job done by Harry Coster. The masters were shipped to him over in Hilversum, The Netherlands.

When I plugged my headphones in and popped this on I was floored at first by the quiet! Yes, if you've heard many previous collections you'd definitely notice a much stronger presence of the aural age of these recordings. There is an astonishing cleanliness to these remasters that allowed me to approach the music as if I were listening for the first time!

Then, you have the awesome sound of the music itself. The guitar sounds markedly improved. The vocals as well. You really have to listen to it to believe it! I never thought I'd hear Robert Johnson this way, and I've sure wondered how he would've sounded if I'd heard him live. The Centennial Collection is the next best thing.

1 Kind Hearted Woman Blues
2 I Believe I'll Dust My Broom
3 Sweet Home Chicago
4 Ramblin' on My Mind
5 When You Got a Good Friend
6 Come on in My Kitchen
7 Terraplane Blues
8 Phonograph Blues
9 32-20 Blues
10 They're Red Hot
11 Dead Shrimp Blues
12 Cross Road Blues
13 Walkin' Blues
14 Last Fair Deal Gone Down
15 Preachin' Blues (Up Jumped the Devil)
16 If I Had Possession Over Judgment Day
17 Kind Hearted Woman Blues
18 Ramblin' on My Mind
19 When You Got a Good Friend
20 Come on in My Kitchen
21 Phonograph Blues
22 Cross Road Blues

1 Stones in My Passway
2 I'm a Steady Rollin' Man
3 From Four Until Late
4 Hell Hound on My Trail
5 Little Queen of Spades
6 Malted Milk
7 Drunken Hearted Man
8 Me and the Devil Blues
9 Stop Breakin' Down Blues
10 Traveling Riverside Blues
11 Honeymoon Blues
12 Love in Vain Blues
13 Milkcow's Calf Blues
14 Little Queen of Spades, A
15 Drunken Hearted Man
16 Me and the Devil Blues
17 Stop Breakin' Down Blues
18 Guitar Figure [Test Groove Before Traveling Riverside Blues]/Traveling Riverside Blues
19 Johnson Speaks [Test Groove Before Love in Vain Blues]/Love in Vain Blues
20 Milkcow's Calf Blues

Note: I've done some research and the edition you want is on CD. The vinyl release looks tempting but apparently the result is not as clean as the compact disc. Typically this assertion would be generally understood as vinyl is known to not have the same clarity as CD, aside from the other positives regarding vinyl over CD in other circumstances (that I will not get into right now) it is not the ideal version of this collection.